Define Your Environment with Photovoice

Each person can define their environment in their own words. The Environmental Health Investigators team has composed a working definition to help you get started: “Your environment is where you live and what you surround yourself with; everything has an impact on your health.”  What does your environment mean to you? How does your environment make you feel? What might be some of the positive and negative health effects of living in your environment? 

In the coming weeks, student participants will be formulating their own photo narratives using the SHOWeD method. The SHOWeD method is part of the Photovoice process. Students will describe their Images using the methodological “SHOWeD” process that I have outlined below. This process will help guide the students as they thoughtfully respond to each question and critically discuss the situations captured through the photos in their own voices. Following the completion of the SHOWeD process, the students will then create a meaningful narrative to describe their photographs carefully and concisely. Below, I have provided two photographs of my environment. I then use my voice to explain how my environment negatively and positively impacts my health. First, I have used the SHOWeD method prompts to describe a photo of my environment and propose a solution to the problem presented. Secondly, I have provided a written narrative for another photo of my environment.

Example 1: Photovoice using the SHOWeD method

What do we SEE in this Photo?

S – I see a rusty burn barrel.

What is really HAPPENING in this Photo?

H – This rusty burn barrel is used to burn garbage. 

How does this relate to OUR lives?

O – People use burn barrels to dispose of their garbage.

WHY does this concern us?

W – Air pollutants/toxic fumes from the garbage are released into the atmosphere in which I live and breath in.

Why does this concern EXIST?

E –  The air pollution is harmful to the health of those breathing in those toxic fumes.

What can we DO to improve this situation?

D –  I can ask people to stop burning their garbage; I can ask the county townships to place a ban on burning garbage; I can make handouts for my community to help educate and raise awareness about the dangers of air pollution. 

Example 2: Photo Narrative

I value the Madison County Trails and the beautiful nature that surrounds them. The image above is an example of both natural and human impacted environments. I surround myself in this environment almost everyday. I go for runs, walls, and bike rides on these trails. This time of year, I love to observe the leaves changing colors as the trees are preparing for the winter season ahead. Each time I am on the trails, I try to take a closer look at each tree. Taking pictures has allowed me to gain a new perspective and appreciation for the small details. Each tree carries a unique leaf with a unique shape, color, smell, and texture. 

This environment above has a positive impact on my health. The paved trails provide me a safe place to engage in physical activity, while the trees provide me fresh, clean air to breathe in. I am positively interacting with my environment when I breathe in the oxygen produced by these trees in exchange for the carbon dioxide that I produce. 

Students, I’m looking forward to seeing and hearing more about YOUR environment! Community supporters, check back in to see how the students define their environment in the coming weeks! 

By: Olivia Middendorf

1 Comment

Leave a Comment